NDS Awards and Honours

National Daffodil Society Honours

The National Daffodil Society (NDSNZ) has four prestigous awards:  Life Member, David Bell Gold Medal, David Bell Bronze Medal and Certificate of Recognition.  LIfe Member is the most prestigious award.  Two of these awards are named after the renowned New Zealand daffodil raiser, the late David Bell.  Beginning in 2008, the NDSNZ established a new award to recognize individuals or groups.

Any NDSNZ member or affiliated group can nominate an individual or group for one of the NDSNZ awards.  Nomination forms are available on this website under NDS Forms or from the NDS Honorary Secretary Catherine McKay email or postal address: 35 Seaview Road, New Plymouth 4310.

Below are the NDSNZ award recipients.

Life Member


  The criteria for this Award are:

  1. Major long term contribution to the administration and management of the NDSNZ or another National Daffodil Society
  2. A significant contribution to the cultivation and exhibition of daffodils
  3. Involvement in fostering interest in daffodils at a local level by working in clubs and societies
  4. The fostering of membership of the NDSNZ by assisting and mentoring new growers.

Current Life Members

Mr David Adams, Christchurch
Mr Benjamin Blake, California (USA)
Mr M.E. (Spud) Brogden, Normanby
Mr. Reg Cull, Foxton
Mr Wilf Hall, Levin
Mr John Hunter, Hope
Mrs. Denise McQuarrie, Lincoln
Mr Brian Parr, Whangarei
Mrs Lesley Ramsay, Cambridge
Dr Peter Ramsay, Matangi

Ms Nancy Tackett, California (USA)


David Bell Gold Medal


The criterion for this award is to an individual who has made an outstanding and major contribution to the advancement of daffodils in the fields of breeding and/or culture.

Gold Medallists

1992 – Mr G.W.E. (Bill) Brogden
1993 – Mr J. Max Hamilton
1996 – Dr Peter D.K. Ramsay
1997 – Mr John A. Hunter
1998 – Mr Mevyn E. (Spud) Brogden
2001 – Mr Colin Crotty
2002 – Mr Graham J. Phillips
2008 – Mr Wilf T. Hall
2008 – Mr John McLennan
2009 – Mrs Faith and Mr Graeme Miller
2014 – Mrs Denise and Mr Neil McQuarrie
2017 – Mr Brian Duncan
2019 – Mr David Jackson


David Bell Bronze Medal


The criterion for this award is for an NDSNZ member who has given outstanding service to the management and administration, or the financial well being of the NDSNZ.

Bronze Medallists

1991 – Mrs Betty Bowers
1992 – Mr Wilf T. Hall
1993 – Mr Don K. Stuart
1996 – Mr Brian T. Parr
1997 – Mr David W. Adams
1998 – Mr Ron J. Abernethy
2001 – Mr Michael J. Brown
2001 – Mrs Shirley Tollison
2004 – Mr Rex N. Bright
2005 – Mr Les Cleveland
2006 – Mrs Nance Storry
2007 – Mrs Lesley Ramsay
2009 – Mr Reg Cull
2010 – Mr Kevin Kerr
2012 – Mrs. Denise McQuarrie
2012 – Mr Malcolm Wheeler
2014 – Mr Trevor Rollinson
2019 – Mr John Hollever

NDSNZ Certificate of Recognition

Beginning In 2008, the NDS recognized individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to the promotion of daffodils with the NDSNZ Certificate of Recognition.

Certificate Recipients

2008 – Railene Mabin, Waipukurau
2008 – Alan Nielson, Tauranga
2008 – Claude Poulsen, Lower Hutt
2009 – Alan Mc Allen, Hamilton
2010 – Ted Dalley, Marton
2010 – Elsa Stern, Rongotea
2010 – David Campbell, Christchurch
2010 – Carolyn Campbell, Christchurch
2011 – Betty Dodds
2011 – Harts Charitable Daffodil Trust, Lawrence
2012 – Bruce Hughes
2012 – June Chappell
2014 – Margaret Seconi, Porirua
2014 – Ron and Margaret Tyrrell, Waikato
2015 – Joy Brogden, Normanby
2015 – Tracey Hooker, Hamilton
2015 – Lorna Kerr
2015 – Pamela Sirett
2016 – Clive Denton
2016 – Ian Hook
2016 – Newstead Model Country School
2016 – Tauwhare School
2016 – Matangi School
2016 – Tamahere Model Country School
2017 – Patti Carr
2017 – Anne Pole
2017 – Gillian Coates
2017 – Arch Crerar
2018 – Judy Phimister
2018 – Alasdair Nicoll
2019 – Mike Smith